Policy Areas

Justice, Freedom and Security

The Hague programme – Strengthening freedom, security and justice in the European Union. On 5 November 2004, the European Council (Heads of State and government of the member states of the European Union) adopted a new comprehensive programme for 2005-2009 on strengthening freedom, security and justice in the EU (The Hague programme).

05/01/2005 (last changed: 25/08/2008) :: Five years earlier, in October 1999, the European Council met in Tampere, Finland, to adopt the first programme for the years 1999-2004. The aim of what became known as the “Tampere programme” was to translate the Justice and Home Affairs provisions contained in the Treaty of Amsterdam, which came into force on 1 May 1999, into a list of concrete, legislative measures. Since then two treaties have been signed. The Nice Treaty, which came into force on 1 February 2004, and the treaty establishing a constitution for Europe, which was signed in Rome on 29 October 2004 and is now undergoing a ratification process in every EU member state.

The Hague programme takes into account the recent treaty developments and presents a number of measures in all fields of freedom, security and justice, including citizenship of the union, asylum and migration, integration, management of migration flows, police- and judicial co-operation, terrorism, crime prevention and judicial co-operation in civil matters. Before the summer, the Commission will present an action plan on how to make the Hague programme a reality.

Many of the proposals in the Hague programme are likely to concern Norway. This is a result of our participation in the Schengen co-operation, but also because Norway is part of the internal market through the European Economic Area (EEA-agreement).



Send this article to a friend  
Print version

Minister of Justice and the Police Knut Storberget.Photo: Ministry of Justice and the Police.