Policy Areas

Somali Parliamentary session

Norway aligned itself with an EU declaration on the announcement of venue and date for the holding of the Somali Parliamentary session.

13/02/2006 :: The European Union welcomes the announcement made by the Speaker of the Somali Transitional Federal Parliament on 30 January 2006 in the presence of the President of the Somali Republic, establishing Baidoa as the venue for the extraordinary session of the Somali Parliament to be held from 26 February 2006.

The EU welcomes the commitment of the President and the Speaker to the timely implementation of the Aden Declaration and reiterates its call on all members of the Transitional Federal Parliament and Government to spare no effort in actively and positively supporting the implementation of this announcement and to work together in order to ensure the necessary political and security conditions for the parliament’s session to be held.

The EU reaffirms its readiness to provide logistical and financial support as necessary and appropriate to facilitate the preparations for the extraordinary session and for the work of Parliament inside Somalia.

The Acceding Countries Bulgaria and Romania, the Candidate Countries Turkey, Croatia* and the former Yugoslav Republic of Macedonia*, the Countries of the Stabilisation and Association Process and potential candidates Albania, Bosnia and Herzegovina, Serbia and Montenegro, and the EFTA countries Iceland, Liechtenstein and Norway, members of the European Economic Area, as well as Ukraine and the Republic of Moldova align themselves with this declaration.
* Croatia and the former Yugoslav Republic of Macedonia  continue to be part of the  Stabilisation and Association Process.


Send this article to a friend  
Print version