Policy Areas

Agreement in Somalia

Norway aligned itself with a EU statement on the agreement between Somalia’s President and Parliament Speaker, published in Vienna and in Brussels on 11 January 2006.

12/01/2006 :: The statement reads as follows:

The European Union warmly welcomes the Declaration issued jointly in Aden on 5 January 2006 by President Abdullahi Yusuf Ahmed of the Somali Republic and the Speaker of the Transitional Federal Parliament of Somalia, Sharif Hassan Sheikh Aden, and  commends President Ali Abdalla Salah of the Republic of Yemen for his facilitation of their discussions.

The EU is greatly encouraged to note the parties’ guidance by the Transitional Federal Charter and their undertaking to convene a session of Parliament within thirty days. The EU reiterates its unwavering and unequivocal support for the Transitional Federal Institutions as the only legitimate framework for fostering political dialogue, stability and governance in Somalia.

The EU calls on all members of the Transitional Federal Parliament and Government to respond actively and positively to this timely initiative of the President and the Speaker, and reaffirms its willingness to provide logistical and financial support as necessary and appropriate to facilitate the work of Parliament inside Somalia.

The Acceding Countries Bulgaria and Romania, the Candidate Countries Turkey, Croatia* and the former Yugoslav Republic of Macedonia*, the Countries of the Stabilisation and Association Process and potential candidates Albania, Bosnia and Herzegovina, Serbia and Montenegro, and the EFTA countries Iceland, Liechtenstein and Norway, members of the European Economic Area, as well as Ukraine and the Republic of Moldova align themselves with this declaration.
* Croatia and the former Yugoslav Republic of Macedonia  continue to be part of the Stabilisation and Association Process.

Send this article to a friend  
Print version