Policy Areas

Human Rights in Iran

Norway has aligned with the EU declaration on the worrying human rights developments in Iran in particular the case of Abdolfattah Soltani and the ten executions in Evin prison on April 19.

24/05/2006 :: The declaration was published in Brussels and Vienna by the Presidency on behalf of the European Union on 5 May and reads as follows:

“The European Union expresses its serious concern about the situation of human rights in Iran. The EU remains particularly alarmed about the indictment of the human rights defender Abdolfattah Soltani. The EU calls on Iranian authorities to respect Mr. Soltani’s right to a fair and public hearing by a competent, independent and impartial tribunal established by law. The EU also regrets that Abdolfattah Soltani has been disbarred from holding his elected position in the Iranian Bar Association and asks the competent bodies to reconsider this decision. The EU calls upon Iran to stop penalising individuals for contacts with embassies.

The European Union also expresses its serious concern about the general increase in executions in Iran. This trend is confirmed by the 10 executions carried out recently in the prison of Evin. The EU reiterates that it is, as a matter of principle, opposed to the death penalty under all circumstances and calls for its universal abolition. Where the death penalty still exists, the EU calls on states to progressively restrict its use, and insists that capital punishment could be imposed only for the most serious crimes and according to minimum standards and that the death penalty may not be imposed on certain categories of persons such as, for example, juvenile offenders.

The Acceding Countries Bulgaria and Romania, the Candidate Countries Turkey, Croatia* and the former Yugoslav Republic of Macedonia*, the Countries of the Stabilisation and Association Process and potential candidates Albania, Bosnia and Herzegovina, Serbia and Montenegro, and the EFTA countries Iceland, Liechtenstein and Norway, members of the European Economic Area, as well as Ukraine and the Republic of Moldova align themselves with this declaration.”

* Croatia and the former Yugoslav Republic of Macedonia  continue to be part of the Stabilisation and Association Process.

Send this article to a friend  
Print version