Policy Areas

First round of elections in Benin

Norway aligns with the EU Declaration on the elections in Benin, published in Vienna and Brussels on 8 March 2006.

13/03/2006 :: Declaration by the Presidency on behalf of the European Union on the first round of the elections in Benin.
The first round of the vote in Benin to elect the next President of the Republic was held on 5 March 2006, in accordance with the constitutional and legal provisions in force in that country.
Preparations for the ballot were particularly complex on account of the nature of the electoral structures created by the law, the very short time available for organising the election and the difficulty of finding the necessary funding locally.  Certain Member States of the European Union and the European Commission contributed to the funding of the election in response to the request of the Benin authorities.
Given the conditions in which the election was organised, it was inevitable that certain logistical problems would arise on the day of the vote.
Nevertheless, it must be said that the electoral campaign was conducted in an atmospere of great calm and that the people of Benin turned out to vote in massive numbers.  They exercised their right to vote calmly, seriously and with dignity, providing an admirable lesson in citizenship.
Overall, then, the election reflects the political maturity of the people of Benin and fully demonstrates their deep respect for the democratic process in which Benin has been engaged for over fifteen years with the Conference of the Vital Forces of the Nation.
The European Union is confidently awaiting publication of the results of the first round of the presidential election in Benin and, if necessary, the holding of a second round.  It confirms its solidarity with the people and leaders of Benin as the country embarks on this new step towards its future.
The Acceding Countries Bulgaria and Romania, the Candidate Countries Turkey, Croatia* and the former Yugoslav Republic of Macedonia*, the Countries of the Stabilisation and Association Process and potential candidates Albania, Bosnia and Herzegovina, Serbia and Montenegro, and the EFTA countries Iceland and Norway, members of the European Economic Area, as well as Ukraine and the Republic of Moldova align themselves with this declaration.
* Croatia and the former Yugoslav Republic of Macedonia continue to be part of the Stabilisation and Association Process.

Send this article to a friend  
Print version