Russia and Norway sign agreement on local border traffic regime

Last updated: 03/11/2010// In connection with the Second Ministerial Meeting of the Northern Dimension in Oslo on 2 November, Norway and Russia have signed an agreement on facilitation of travel for border residents in Norway and Russia.

Foreign Minister Jonas Gahr Støre said, “The agreement on a local border traffic regime will significantly simplify travel for border residents, and will thus facilitate increased contact between Norway and Russia. This is an important step towards opening the border area for even closer contact and cooperation between Norway and Russia”.

Residents in those parts of Norway and Russia that lie within 30 kilometres of the border, as well as in the entire territory of Korzunovo municipality, will be eligible to apply for a local border traffic permit. The holder will be permitted to stay for up to 15 days at a time in the border area of the other state without a visa. About 9 000 persons in Sør-Varanger municipality on the Norwegian side and 45 000 persons in Pechenga rayon on the Russian side will be covered by the agreement.

Minister of Local Government and Regional Development Liv Signe Navarsete said, “The agreement will strengthen regional cooperation in the north and facilitate increased onshore activity, both in the tourism sector and in other economic sectors. It will also provide make people-to-people cooperation  between our two countries.”

On the Norwegian side, the negotiations on the local border traffic regime have been led by the Ministry of Justice and the Police, which will also be responsible for coordinating implementation.

Read more on the website of the Norwegian Ministry of Foreign Affairs.  

Source: Norwegian Ministry of Foregin Affairs   |   Share on your network   |   print