Norwegian presidency of the Nordic Council of Ministers

Since January 1, 2017, Norway holds the presidency of the Nordic Council of Ministers. Read more about Norway’s priorities, including for the Nordic region in Europe.

‘The economic restructuring of the Nordic region, the challenges faced by Europe, and international developments remind us of the importance of our shared values, our unity, and our solidarity. Strategic Nordic cooperation is crucial,’ said Norwegian Prime Minister Erna Solberg when she presented the programme for the Norwegian presidency of the Nordic Council of Ministers.

Three main themes

The programme – which forms the basis for Nordic intergovernmental cooperation in 2017 – has three main themes:

1.The Nordic region in transition

We will promote Nordic competitiveness, transition to a green, low-carbon economy, integration, and cooperation in the field of health.

2.The Nordic region in Europe

We will work to boost our cooperation on European policy. A strong Nordic voice in the European debate benefits Europe as well as the Nordic region.

3.The Nordic region in the world

We will further develop the Nordic strategic partnership in foreign policy.

Norway is also interested in pursuing synergies between the Nordic and the Nordic–Baltic cooperation.

•Presidency Programme for the Nordic Council of Ministers 2017 (pdf)


The Nordic Council of Ministers is the official body for Nordic intergovernmental cooperation. The presidency is held for a year at a time, and rotates between the five Nordic countries. The country holding the presidency develops a programme to guide Nordic cooperation during that year.

The Nordic Council is the official inter-parliamentary body in the Nordic Region.

  Bookmark and Share