Storting Committees to Brussels

Three of the Standing Committees of the Norwegian Parliament (Stortinget) will visit Brussels this week. The European Parliament (EP) is involved in the programme of all three committees.

22/03/2006 :: The Standing Committee on Foreign Affairs will attend a meeting with the EPs Committee on Foreign Affairs, Human Rights, Common Security and Defence Policy (AFET) 21 March. There will be a separate meeting with AFET chairman Elmar Brook. Furthermore, the Standing Committee will meet with Danish MEP Margrethe Auken and British MEP Diane Wallis, Chairwoman of the Delegation for relations with Switzerland, Iceland and Norway and to the European Economic Area (EEA). The Committee will also visit the EFTA Surveillance Authority (ESA) and the EEA Financial Mechanism Office (FMO). On the agenda for the Committee on Foreign Affairs are development cooperation, Norwegian interests in the Polar Regions, foreign affairs, and general matters in relating to agreements between Norway and other states and international organizations, including EU-Norway relations.

As for the members of the Standing Committee on Scrutiny and Constitutional Affairs, they will meet MEPs Nils Lundgren, Vice-Chairman of the Committee on Budgetary Control, and Jo Leinen, Chairman of the Committee on Constitutional Affairs, before attending a formal meeting in the EPs Committee on Constitutional Affairs. The Standing Committee will also visit the EFTA-secretariat, OLAF (the European Anti-Fraud Office), North Norway European Office, Norwegian trade organizations, ESA and FMO.

The Standing Committee on Finance and Economic Affairs is responsible for economic policy, monetary and credit policy, financial administration, taxes and duties to the State Treasure, National Insurance revenue, fiscal budget and National Budget. In Brussels the members of the Committee will meet, among others, Deputy Director General of the Commission, Hervé Carré and MEPs Gunnar Hökmark, Member of the Committee on Economic and Monetary Affairs and Jan Andersson, Chairman of the Committee on Employment and Social Affairs.
(Published 20.03.06)

Send this article to a friend  
Print version

The lion, a symbol of the Norwegian Parliament.Photo: