Norwegian Chairmanship in Nordic Council of Ministers

The Norwegian Minister of Renewal and Government Administration, Heidi Grande Røys, presented the Norwegian chairmanship’s programme for 2006 on the 57th Session of the Nordic Council. This took place in Reykjavik 25 – 27 October 2005.

15/02/2006 :: Norway and the newly elected Prime Minister Jens Stoltenberg will take over the chairmanship of the Nordic Council of Ministers in 2006. The chairmanship and the presidency of the Nordic Council rotate between the five countries in accordance with an agreed set of rules, and are held for a period of one year. The same country never holds the presidency and chair of both organisations in the same year.

The chairmanship’s programme presents the priorities of the country holding the chair for its term of office, covering inter-governmental co-operation. The Norwegian Chairmanship has chosen to place particular weight on the co-operation with Europe’s northern areas, the Nordic welfare model and knowledge, innovation and creativity. This is based on the demands for continued innovation and increased effectiveness in order to meet internal and external challenges, amongst others in the areas of sustainable development, social welfare schemes and care of the environment.


Send this article to a friend  
Print version

 Photo: Nordic Council.