The Czech Republic, Estonia and Latvia signs EEA funds deal with Iceland, Liechtenstein and Norway.


The Czech Republic, Estonia and Latvia signed on 2 December 2004 a Memorandum of Understanding on the implementation of the EEA Financial Mechanism, together with Iceland, Liechtenstein and Norway.

The EEA Financial Mechanism will over five-year period make available a sum of 48,5 millions Euro in the Czech Republic, 10,1 millions Euro in Estonia and 19,7 millions Euro in Latvia. The funds will be granted to projects covering a broad range of sectors, including environmental protection, renewable energy, promotion of sustainable development, conservation of the European heritage, human resources development, health and childcare.

Norway has already signed MoU’s with all the three countries concerning the implementation of the closely linked Norwegian Financial Mechanism, which was also established under the EEA Enlargement Agreement.

The aim of both financial mechanisms is to reduce social and economic disparities within the EEA, and to enable all EEA countries to participate fully in the Internal Market.

Further information on the signing and the financial mechanisms can be found on the EFTA WebPages.

Send this article to a friend  
Print version

Mr. Jan Kohout, Czech Ambassador to the European Union, signed the MoU on behalf of the Czech Republic, while the Ambassador of Iceland, Mr. Kjartan Jóhannsson, the Ambassador of Liechtenstein, H.S.H. Prince Nikolaus of Liechtenstein, and the Ambassador of Norway, Mr. Bjørn T. Grydeland, signed on behalf of the EEA EFTA countries.Photo: EFTA