EASA – European Aviation Safety Agency – incorporated into the EEA Agreement

After two and a half years of negotiations between the EU and the EFTA States the EASA Regulation was incorporated into the EEA Agreement on 9 December through a decision of the EEA Joint Committee.

15/02/2006 :: The European Aviation Safety Agency (EASA) has as its principal objective to establish and maintain a high uniform level of civil aviation safety and environmental protection within the EU and – as of now – the EFTA/EEA-states. EASA is an independent legal body, which is exercising implementing powers conferred on it by the Regulation. As a first step the Agency’s domains are the certification of aeronautical products, parts and appliances, and the approval of organisations and personnel engaged in maintenance of these products. The scope of the Agency will be progressively extended. The Agency is located in Cologne, Germany.

The incorporation of Regulation (EC) No 1592/2002 into the EEA-Agreement allows for full participation of the EFTA States in the EASA. The EFTA States shall participate fully in the Management Board except for the right to vote. Nationals of the EFTA States shall be eligible as members of the EASA Board of Appeal, and lastly EFTA States experts may be engaged under contract by the Agency. The EFTA States shall contribute financially to the EASA according to rules laid down in the EEA Agreement.

Send this article to a friend  
Print version