Policy Areas

Trials in Uzbekistan

Norway has aligned with an EU declaration on 19 June 2006 concerning the appeal trials against Mr. Sanjar Umarov, Ms. Nadira Khidoyatova and Mutabar Tojibaeva in Uzbekistan.

The declaration reads as follows:

The EU takes note of the opportunity to attend the appeal trials against Mr. Sanjar Umarov,Ms. Nadira Khidoyatova and Mutabar Tojibaeva. The EU has learned of the sentences pronounced against Mr. Umarov whose sentence wasreduced from 10 and a half to 7 years and 8 months and against Ms. Khidoyatova whosesentence was reduced to 7 years suspended with a 3 years probationary period and herimmediate release in return for financial compensation to the State.

The EU has also observed with concern the confirmation of the conviction of Ms.Tojibaeva and regrets that the call on the legal authorities for humanitarian principles has not lead to an alleviation of her sentence. Although in two cases the sentences have been reduced, the EU remains concerned that the convictions of the first instance have been confirmed in all three cases. The EU repeats its call on the Uzbek authorities to ensure access to the inmates and the required medical assistance.

Furthermore the EU urges the Uzbek authorities to inform about the whereabouts and current situation of the human rights defender Saidjakhon Zainabitdinov who has been arrested in January and his son Ilhom Zainabitdinov who has been detained on 22 May this year.

The EU calls on Uzbekistan to comply with all relevant international human rights standards and treaty obligations and OSCE commitments as regards the right to fair trial, freedom of expression and the protection of human rights defenders.

The Acceding Countries Bulgaria and Romania, the Candidate Countries Turkey, Croatia* and the former Yugoslav Republic of Macedonia*, the Countries of the Stabilisation and Association Process and potential candidates Albania, Bosnia and Herzegovina, Serbia, and the EFTA countries Iceland, Liechtenstein and Norway, members of the European Economic Area, as well as Ukraine and the Republic of Moldova align themselves with
this declaration.
* Croatia and the former Yugoslav Republic of Macedonia continue to be part of the
Stabilisation and Association Process.

(19 june 2006)

Send this article to a friend  
Print version