Policy Areas

Independence by the Montenegrin Parliament

On 3 June 2006 Norway aligned with an EU declaration concerning the independence of the Republic of Montenegro.

The declaration reads as follows:

The European Union takes note that, on 3 June 2006, the Parliament of Montenegro has passed a Declaration on the Independence of the Republic of Montenegro, in conformity with Art. 60 of the Constitutional Charter of the State Union of Serbia and Montenegro. This declaration follows certification of the result of the referendum on the independence of Montenegro as announced by the Republic Referendum Commission on 31 May.

The European Union recalls that the OSCE Office for Democratic Institutions and Human Rights (OSCE/ODIHR) has confirmed that this referendum was conducted in line with OSCE and Council of Europe commitments and other international standards for democratic electoral processes. The European Union thanks SG/HR Javier Solana and his Personal Representative Miroslav Lajcak for their contributions to facilitate this process. The European Union reiterates that it will fully respect the decision of the people of Montenegro. With a view to the appropriate next steps, Member States have agreed to address the matter further at the General Affairs and External Relations Council on 12 June 2006.

The European Union calls on Belgrade and Podgorica to pursue a direct and constructive dialogue on their future relations. The European Union stands ready to support this dialogue.
At the same time, the EU calls on the Montenegrin government and opposition, in full respect of the decision of the people of Montenegro, to engage in a dialogue and to cooperate constructively in the implementation of political, social and economic reforms. The European Union reconfirms the European perspective of the Western Balkans on the basis of the Stabilisation and Association Process.

The Acceding Countries Bulgaria and Romania, the Candidate Countries Turkey, Croatia* and the former Yugoslav Republic of Macedonia*, the Countries of the Stabilisation and Association Process and potential candidates Albania, Bosnia and Herzegovina and the EFTA countries Iceland, Liechtenstein and Norway, members of the European Economic Area, as well as Ukraine and the Republic of Moldova align themselves with this declaration.
* Croatia and the former Yugoslav Republic of Macedonia continue to be part of the Stabilisation and Association Process.

(3 June 2006)


Send this article to a friend  
Print version