Policy Areas

Situation in Burundi

Norway has aligned with an EU declaration on the situation in Burundi, published in Brussels on 11 August 2006.

The declaration reads as follows:

The EU, which has always supported the democratic process in Burundi and which attaches great importance to the harmonious political and economic development of that country, has taken note with concern of the information it received from the Burundian Government on 4 August 2006 regarding the preparation of a coup d’├ętat on 30 June 2006.

The EU has taken note of the assurances given by the Burundian Government that the judicial investigations currently under way in this matter will be conducted in strict compliance with legal procedures, with transparency and with respect for human rights. The EU has also taken note of the Burundian Government’s commitment to inform the international community without delay of the conclusions of that investigation.

The EU would urge the Burundian Government to shed light on the allegations of torture, to comply strictly with the laws in force regarding pre-trial detention and to guarantee free access for national and international human rights organisations to the persons apprehended, as it has undertaken to do. More generally, the EU would encourage the Government to continue the democratic process begun in Burundi in a spirit of national harmony, dialogue with the various political parties and cooperation with civil society. The EU would also urge the Burundian authorities to ensure that human rights, including freedom of speech and of the press, are protected, and not to endanger political stability and the efforts towards economic and social reconstruction that have been made in order to safeguard the confidence of the international community.

The Acceding Countries Bulgaria and Romania, the Candidate Countries Turkey, Croatia* and the former Yugoslav Republic of Macedonia*, the Countries of the Stabilisation and Association Process and potential candidates Albania, Bosnia and Herzegovina, Montenegro, Serbia, and the EFTA countries Liechtenstein and Norway, members of the European Economic Area, as well as Ukraine and the Republic of Moldova align themselves with this declaration.
* Croatia and the former Yugoslav Republic of Macedonia continue to be part of the Stabilisation and Association Process.


Send this article to a friend  
Print version