Norway holds the presidency of the Nordic Council of Ministers

In 2006 Norway is holding the Presidency of the Nordic Council of Ministers. The Council formed in 1971 is the main forum for Nordic governmental co-operation. The Council is formed by Denmark, the Faroe Islands, Iceland, Finland, Greenland, Åland, Sweden and Norway.

04/04/2006 :: The Norwegian Presidency’s main goals throughout the presidency period are to increase the co-operation in the northern areas of Europe, to promote the model of the Nordic welfare state and to further endorse knowledge, innovation and creativity. The Presidency will continue the work done by the previous country’s presidency on securing open borders in The Nordic region, as well as renewing and making the Nordic cooperation more efficient.

The EU’s Neighbourhood Policy and the Northern Dimension are fundamental for the regional cooperation in the Nordic area. The Norwegian Presidency will continue the good co-operation with the EU on the current programs and seek to actively contribute to further development of the EU’s Northern Dimension in 2006.

Send this article to a friend  
Print version

Nordic-Baltic Prime Minister meeting in Reykjavik 2005Photo: The Nordic Council