Extension of the EIB Loan Facility for EFTA countries

The European Investment Bank (EIB) has approved the extension of the EIB Loan Facility for Norway, Liechtenstein, Iceland and Switzerland.

15/02/2006 :: The approval by the EIB’s Board of Directors and Board of Governors meets the request from the EFTA states, and is authorising EIB to provide up to 800 million euro of credit over the period from 31st December 2005 to 31st December 2009. This implies an expansion of the arrangement to a total of 2,5 billion euro.

The existing framework of 1,7 billion euro has been utilised in full, and has financed projects in the fields of energy, renewable energy, research, development, innovation and access to Trans-European Network (TENs). These fields will remain areas of priority.


Send this article to a friend  
Print version

Minister of Finance, Kristin Halvorsen, and Vice-President of the European Investment Bank (EIB), Mr Sauli Niinistö.
  Photo: Ministry of Finance.