Photo: Guri Dahl, Guri Dahl,

Norway’s participation in EU programmes and agencies

Last updated: 10.08.2016 // The EU has established several programmes in order to help implement EU policy. Through the EEA Agreement, Norway, Iceland and Liechtenstein participate in a wide range of these programmes and activities.

These programmes and related activities strengthen cooperation in areas not covered by the internal market, and support further development of the four freedoms.The programmes cover areas such as research, education, social policy and culture.

This participation creates a wealth of opportunities in the areas of innovation, research, cultural exchanges and education, of benefit for all EEA states.

The EU has also set up several decentralised agencies to carry out technical, scientific or administrative tasks relating to the internal market and the EU programmes. Norway participates in a number of these agencies through provisions in the EEA Agreement or on the basis of bilateral agreements with the EU.

When the EEA Joint Committee agrees to incorporate programmes and agencies into the EEA Agreement, Norway commits to making an annual financial contribution to the relevant EU budget. EEA EFTA states fund their participation in programmes and agencies by paying an amount calculated on the basis of the relative size of their gross domestic product (GDP) compared to the GDP of the EEA as a whole.

The EEA EFTA states thereby participate on an equal footing with EU member states. In addition, the EEA EFTA states send a number of national experts on secondment to the European Commission. These posts are fully financed by the EEA EFTA states themselves.

The total EEA EFTA commitment contributions amount to 3.03% of the overall EU programme budget. In 2014, Norway’s contribution was EUR 306 million. This constitutes 97 % of the total EEA EFTA contributions. During the programme period 2014–20, the Norwegian contribution will increase substantially, in parallel with the EU programme budget, from EUR 306 million in 2014 to EUR 550 million in 2020.

During the EU programme period 2014–20 Norway will participate in the following programmes:

  • Horizon 2020
  • Erasmus +
  • Galileo
  • Creative Europe
  • Connecting Europe Facility (ICT part)
  • European Statistical Programme
  • Health for Growth
  • Union Civil Protection Mechanism
  • Interoperability Solutions for Public Administrations (ISA) Programme
  • Employment and Social Innovation         
  • Consumer Programme
  • Copernicus programme

Norway also has a bilateral arrangement for participation in interregional programmes under the EU’s Regional Policy.

As of 2014, Norway participates in the following EU agencies:

  • Education, Audiovisual and Culture Executive Agency (EACEA)***
  • European Agency for the Management of Operational Cooperation at the External Borders (FRONTEX)**
  • European Agency for Safety and Health at Work (EU-OSHA)
  • European Aviation Safety Agency (EASA)
  • European Centre for Disease Prevention and Control (ECDC)
  • European Centre for the Development of Vocational Training (CEDEFOP)
  • European Chemicals Agency (ECHA)
  • European Defence Agency (EDA)*
  • European Environment Agency (EEA)
  • European Food Safety Authority (EFSA)
  • European Foundation for the Improvement of Living and Working Conditions (EUROFUND)
  • European GNSS (Global Navigation Satellite System) Supervisory Authority
  • European Institute of Innovation and Technology (EIT)
  • European Maritime Safety Agency (EMSA)
  • European Medicines Agency (EMA)
  • European Monitoring Centre for Drugs and Drug Addiction (EMCDDA)*
  • European Network and Information Security Agency (ENISA)
  • Europol (the EU’s law enforcement agency)*
  • European Railway Agency (ERA)
  • European Research Council Executive Agency (ERC)***
  • European Union Satellite Centre (EUSC)*
  • European Union’s Judicial Cooperation Unit (EUROJUST)*
  • Executive Agency for Competitiveness and Innovation (EACI)***
  • Executive Agency for Health and Consumers (EAHC)***
  • Research Executive Agency (REA)***
  • European Police College (CEPOL)

* Bilateral agreement between the EU and Norway 

** Norway participates through its Schengen membership

*** Norway participates through related programmes

More information:
The Norwegian Government’s Strategy for cooperation with the EU 2014 – 2017


  Bookmark and Share