The European Economic Area Agreement

Last updated: 10.08.2016 // The Agreement on the European Economic Area (EEA) is the cornerstone of relations between Norway and the EU. It brings together the 28 EU member states and the three EEA EFTA states Norway, Iceland and Liechtenstein in the Internal market governed by the same basic rules.

See also:
Ten facts about the EEA

The EEA Agreement guarantees the Internal market’s four freedoms, as well as non-discrimination and equal rules of competition throughout the area.

The internal market’s four freedoms are the free movement of goods, persons, services and capital. The Agreement also covers cooperation in other important areas such as research and development, education, social policy, the environment, consumer protection, tourism and culture. It also enables the three EEA EFTA states to participate in various EU programmes.

The EEA Agreement does not cover the EU common agriculture and fisheries policies, the customs union, the common trade policy, the common foreign and security policy, justice and home affairs or the monetary union.

The principle of free movement of goods ensures that products originating in an EEA state may circulate freely within the internal market. Customs duties and quantitative restrictions on trade in such products are prohibited within the EEA.

Through the free movement of persons, all EEA nationals have the right to work in any other EEA state. Students, pensioners and people not in paid employment also have the right to reside in another EEA state.

Under the EEA Agreement individuals and companies enjoy freedom of establishment and the right to provide services across the EEA on equal terms. Information about authorisation procedures and other matters is available from the Norwegian public reporting portal, Altinn, which is the single point of contact for service providers.

The free movement of capital enables cross-border investment by residents and companies in the EEA, without discrimination on grounds of nationality, place of residence or place of establishment. Citizens and companies have the right to transfer money between EEA states, and to open bank accounts, invest in shares and funds, and borrow money in other EEA states.

A central principle of the EEA Agreement is homogeneity, which means that the same rules and conditions of competition apply to all economic operators within the EEA. To maintain homogeneity, the EEA Agreement is continuously updated and amended to ensure that the legislation of the EEA EFTA states is in line with EU internal market legislation.

The EEA institutions          

Substantive decisions relating to the EEA Agreement are a joint venture between the EEA EFTA states and the EU. Common bodies, such as the EEA Council and the EEA Joint Committee, have been established to administer the EEA Agreement. 

Because the EEA EFTA states are not members of the EU, they are constitutionally not able to accept direct decisions by the European Commission or the Court of Justice of the European Union. Separate EEA EFTA bodies that correspond to these EU bodies have therefore been set up. This is known as the two-pillar structure.

The EFTA Surveillance Authority (ESA) plays a similar surveillance role to that of the European Commission. The Authority ensures that Norway, Iceland and Liechtenstein respect their obligations under the EEA Agreement, and it also ensures that companies in these countries abide by the common rules of competition. The Authority can investigate possible infringements of EEA provisions, either on its own initiative, or on the basis of complaints. There is close contact and cooperation between the Commission and the Authority.

The EFTA Court corresponds to the Court of Justice of the European Union in matters relating to the EEA EFTA states. The EFTA Court deals with infringement actions brought by the EFTA Surveillance Authority against an EEA EFTA state and handles disputes between two or more EEA EFTA states.

The two-pillar EEA structure
This figure illustrates the management of the EEA Agreement. The left pillar shows the EFTA states and their institutions, while the right pillar shows the EU side. The joint EEA bodies are in the middle:

*Switzerland is an observer

Read more about the EEA bodies here.

More information:
Document: The Norwegian Government’s Strategy for cooperation with the EU 2014 – 2017
Website: The European Economic Area (EEA) Agreement
Website: EEA Policy Areas on
Brochure: Ten facts about the EEA
Website: The EEA and Norway Grants


  Bookmark and Share