Policy Areas

Declaration on the situation in Côte d’Ivoire

Norway has aligned with an EU declaration 10 November 2006 on the situation in Côte d’Ivoire.

05/12/2006 :: The European Union welcomes the fact that by adopting Resolution 1721 the international community has unanimously outlined a framework that will enable Côte d’Ivoire to emerge from the current crisis. The resolution was a product of the recommendations by ECOWAS and the African Union, and the European Union emphasises that it is fully binding on all Ivorian parties, who may not invoke any provision of law in order to obstruct the peace process.
The European Union welcomes the intention expressed by the Prime Minister in his speech on 8 November to take possession of all the means available to him under Resolution 1721 in order to perform the mandate with which he is charged. The European Union urges all Ivorian parties to give the Prime Minister the support he needs to bring the peace and reconciliation process to a successful conclusion. It condemns the declarations opposing the framework outlined by the Security Council and issues a warning against any initiative likely to violate it. Conscious of their weariness and distress in the face of the continuing crisis, the European Union once again expresses its solidarity with the Ivorian people. It shares their rejection of violence and intimidation.

The European Union calls on the United Nations to impose targeted sanctions without delay in particular against anyone who obstructs by whatever means the process of peace and reconciliation.

The European Union welcomes the decision to entrust the task of mediation to the Congolese President, Mr Sassou Nguesso, in his capacity as Chairperson of the African Union and reiterates its support for the International Working Group in its role as guarantor and impartial arbitrator of the peace process in Côte d’Ivoire.

The Acceding Countries Bulgaria and Romania, the Candidate Countries Turkey, Croatia* and the former Yugoslav Republic of Macedonia*, the Countries of the Stabilisation and Association Process and potential candidates Montenegro, Serbia, and the EFTA countries Iceland, Liechtenstein and Norway, members of the European Economic Area, as well as Ukraine and the Republic of Moldova align themselves with this declaration. * Croatia and the former Yugoslav Republic of Macedonia continue to be part of the Stabilisation and Association Process.

(10 November 2006)

Send this article to a friend  
Print version