European Economic Area

Last updated: 08.06.2009 //  

The Agreement on the European Economic Area – the EEA Agreement – is the cornerstone of the relations between Norway and the European Union. The EEA extends the Internal Market, with its so-called four freedoms (free movement of goods, capital, services and persons), to Norway and the two other EEA EFTA countries; Iceland and Liechtenstein.

You will find a link to the actual agreement on this page, in the link-box to the right.

The agreement establishes a system ensuring equal conditions of competition. In addition it includes so-called “flanking and horizontal policies”, intended to strengthen the Internal Market. Other fields of co-operation include consumer protection, culture, education, environment, information services, and small and medium-sized enterprises. The EEA Agreement also contains provisions on various aspects of trade in agricultural and fish products.

On 1 May 2004 the European Union was enlarged with ten new Member States; Czech Republic, Estonia, Cyprus, Hungary, Latvia, Lithuania, Malta, Poland, Slovenia and the Slovak Republic. Norway has been associated with the EU enlargement through the parallel enlargement of the European Economic Area (EEA).

On 1 August 2007 the EEA was enlarged again, including Bulgaria and Romania into the European Economic Area.

Read more about the EEA:
Ten facts about the Agreement
Scope and institutional aspects
The EEA and Norway Grants
Enlargement of the EU and EEA
More information on

  Bookmark and Share